fbpx

單身家庭常見問題

此頁面重點介紹了單戶家庭的常見問題。 選擇以下主題之一開始。 沒有看到您正在尋找的答案? 我們很樂意提供幫助! 請給我們留言,並使用我們的聯繫表格將您的問題發送給我們。

關於接受、不接受和難以回收的物品的問題


關於堆肥的問題


關於服務和計費的問題


關於您的費率的問題

#

關於可接受、不接受和難以回收的物品的問題

為什麼塑料袋不能進入回收車?

RethinkWaste 不接受回收車中的塑料袋,因為它們經常被 Shoreway 環境中心的機器夾住,有可能損壞設施並危及我們的工人。 檢查您當地的雜貨店,看看他們是否收回塑料袋或訪問 RecycleStuff.org 下車地點列表。 您可以查看 RethinkWaste 區域接受塑料袋的最新地點列表 這裡.

如何回收舊床墊或彈簧盒?

通過床墊回收委員會在 肖維環境中心轉運站。 點擊 這裡 查看哪些床墊和彈簧床墊符合回收條件。 有關如何回收床墊和彈簧床墊的更多信息,請訪問 這頁.

下一次切碎和/或電子廢料收集活動是什麼時候?

細味觀察 活動頁面 為您所在城市或城鎮的下一次碎紙/電子廢料事件。 Shred 和 E-Scrap 活動每年由 RethinkWaste 並代表我們參與的會員機構舉辦。

E-Scrap 全年接受 肖威公共回收中心 在聖卡洛斯。

如何回收使用過的家用電池和舊手機?

只需將您的家用電池或手機放入一個透明的拉鍊袋中,然後將袋子放好 在您的收集日在您的黑色垃圾車頂部. 鋰電池必須用透明的家用膠帶和手機用紙包好,然後才能放入帶拉鍊的袋子中。 訪問 這頁 了解有關正確處理電池及其重要性的更多信息。

 

 

我可以在路邊回收用過的機油和機油濾清器嗎?

是的, 聖馬刁縣生態學 提供路邊收集用過的機油和用過的機油濾清器,無需額外費用即可回收利用。 根據要求,Recology San Mateo 縣一次可為居民提供最多五個 XNUMX 加侖的塑料罐,用於存放您用過的機油,最多為五個塑料袋存放您用過的機油濾清器。 或者,您可以使用自己的透明 XNUMX 加侖水罐,帶有可密封的機油蓋和用於濾油器的拉鍊袋。 在收集日將您用過的機油和過濾器放在藍色回收車旁邊。 機油和機油濾清器也被接受 公共回收中心 在 Shoreway 環境中心。

如何安排大件物品取件?

居民可以每年通過 Recology 安排兩次隨叫隨到的大件物品取件,無需額外費用。 只需撥打 (650) 595-3900 聯繫 Recology San Mateo County,即可安排接送或參觀 Recology San Mateo County 的網站.

為什麼貨架穩定的容器(如豆漿容器)不可回收?

貨架穩定的容器(例如大豆/杏仁/燕麥奶和湯湯)通常是無菌或利樂包裝容器,這意味著它們由不同的材料製成,例如箔、紙和塑料。 果汁袋和圓柱形薯片容器是多材料物品的其他示例。 這些材料非常緊密地粘合在一起,我們的設施目前無法分離要回收的各種組件,因此必須將它們放入黑色垃圾車中。

舊 CD 和 DVD 可以回收嗎?

不可以。如果您無法捐贈或重複使用舊 CD 和 DVD,這些物品將被放入黑色垃圾車。 如果不能捐贈舊唱片和盒式磁帶,也可以放入黑色垃圾車。 但是,它們可以在 綠色公民 在 Burlingame 中收取少量費用(1.00 美元/磅回收)。

為什麼黑色塑料不能進入回收站?

黑色塑料不屬於回收箱。 對塑料進行分類的光學掃描儀  肖威環境中心 無法讀取黑色塑料。 此外,黑色塑料是一種質量較低的塑料,沒有市場可供出售。 如果您不能重複使用它,黑色塑料屬於垃圾箱/推車。

追逐箭頭符號是否意味著物品是可回收的?

不一定,追逐箭頭符號僅表示該物品由塑料製成,而不是該物品易於回收。 我們只接受數字範圍為 1-7 的塑料材料。 數字表示該物品的塑料材料類型。 點擊此處了解詳情. 目前,標有#3-7 的塑料沒有市場可回收製成新產品,因此這些塑料目前正在被填埋。

所有塑料在收集後都會回收嗎?

塑料以及任何收集用於回收的物品必須有一個下游或終端市場,可以將其轉化為可回收的新產品。 如果沒有可以將材料製成新東西的目的地(或終端市場),“可回收物”實際上不會被“回收”。 目前,標有#3-7 的塑料沒有市場,因此這些塑料目前正在被填埋。 訪問 這頁 有關如何在 RethinkWaste 服務區回收塑料的更多信息。

我可以在哪里處理食用油?

您可以將食用油丟棄在 肖威公共回收中心,免費。 居民每次訪問最多可以丟棄 15 加侖的食用油。

如何處理舊油漆?

  • 沒有剩餘危險產品的空油漆容器可以進入垃圾箱或回收箱。 完全空的油漆容器可以進入回收箱。 如果有一層硬化的油漆,那就是垃圾。
  • 如果罐子裡還有油漆,您有幾種處理油漆的方法:
    • 與聖馬刁縣安排家庭危險廢物回收預約:單擊 這裡 要做個預約。
    • 將乳膠和油性塗料滴在 肖威公共回收中心.
    • 作為 PaintCare 計劃的一部分,許多油漆店現在在正常營業時間內免費收回油漆、著色劑和清漆。 查找位置 這裡.

我如何回收我的節日樹?

一旦你從你的節日樹上取下所有的金屬絲、燈、裝飾品和架子,你就可以把聖誕樹放在你的綠色堆肥車旁邊, 學說 將在 2 月 31 日至 8 日的常規收款日為您取貨。 請確保樹木在 8 英尺及以下。 如果您的樹高於 8 英尺,請將樹切成 31 英尺或更短的長度。 XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日之後,樹木必須被砍伐並放在堆肥車內進行收集。 如果您需要幫助或您的樹尚未被取走,請致電 Recology 客戶服務熱線 (650) 595-3900 或使用 “聯繫我們”表格 在 Recology San Mateo 縣網站上。

我可以用處理過的木材廢料做什麼?

處理過的木材廢料需要在處理這些廢料的特定設施中進行處理。 檢查 有毒物質控制部網站 了解更多關於該廢物去哪里處理的信息。

什麼是願望單車?

Wish-cycling 是將某物放入回收站“希望”它會被分類和回收。 在您需要對垃圾進行分類之前,請先查看 WhatBin.com 查看物品正確屬於或使用的位置 RecycleStuff.org 對於不放入任何購物車或垃圾箱的物品。 退房 這個排序遊戲 測試你的廢物知識!

上面有食物的鋁箔紙需要清洗嗎?

不,鋁箔不需要清洗。 抖掉多餘的食物,將鋁箔捲成一個球(食物面朝內),然後放入您的藍色回收車。

我可以在哪里處理我的危險廢物(乳膠和油性塗料、熒光燈、清潔劑、氣霧罐、丙烷罐、殺蟲劑和機油/過濾器)?

聖馬刁縣 家庭危險廢物計劃 幫助居民負責任地免費處理他們的危險廢物。 居民必須在 smchealth.org/hhw 或致電 (650) 363-4718(選擇選項 3)。  縣城居民可以下車 全系列 HHW,包括氣霧罐和家用清潔產品。 有關危險廢物處理的更多選項和信息,請訪問我們的 家庭危險廢物頁面.

Shoreway 公共回收中心還接受精選的危險廢物,如油漆、熒光燈燈泡和燈管、機油和過濾器,以便免費丟棄。 在我們的網站上查找接受項目的列表 Shoreway 公共回收中心頁面.

我在哪裡可以回收衣服?

聖馬刁縣的 Recology 不回收紡織品。 像 Goodwill 和 Salvation Army 這樣的大多數舊貨店都參與紡織品回收,並且可以將舊的或不需要的衣服完好無損。 一些商店也接受舊衣服進行回收。 北臉, H&M Madewell 收集用過的衣服和鞋子,並為攜帶物品的顧客提供折扣。此外,請檢查您當地的寵物收容所,例如 半島人道協會 因為他們可能會將舊床單用作動物的床上用品。

碎紙需要裝袋回收嗎?

是的。 請將碎紙放入標有“碎紙”的紙袋中,然後放入回收車中,以防止在提車時溢出和亂扔垃圾。

我的可回收物在進入藍色購物車之前需要清潔到什麼程度?

硬塑料、玻璃罐和瓶子等可回收物品在進入回收利用之前需要清潔約 90%。 確保液體不會最終進入回收利用非常重要,這樣紙製品就不會受到污染。

#

關於堆肥的問題

為什麼我不能在我的廚房桶或堆肥車中使用塑料袋?

堆肥計劃不接受任何種類的塑料,包括袋子,因為它們不是由有機材料製成,不會在工業堆肥設施中分解。 您可以使用報紙或紙袋等物品將食物殘渣包裹起來,然後再將它們放入堆肥車。 您還可以使用可生物降解產品研究所 (BPI) 可堆肥袋來排列廚房桶或堆肥車來收集食物殘渣。 這些袋子可以在許多當地零售店找到。 訪問 這頁 有關如何在沒有可堆肥袋的情況下為廚房桶或堆肥車排線的更多信息。 

我在哪裡可以獲得免費堆肥?

RethinkWaste 在我們的網站上提供免費堆肥 濱海中轉站 在聖卡洛斯,我們服務區內的所有居民。 訪問我們的 堆肥頁面 了解更多信息。

我在哪裡可以買到檯面廚房堆肥桶?

您可以通過 Recology San Mateo County 的網站免費索取自己的廚房堆肥桶 聯繫我們頁面 或者通過調用(650)595-3900。

如何減少堆肥產生的氣味?

每隔幾天清空廚房桶裡的東西以防止異味。 每個家庭可能會略有不同,具體取決於您填滿食物的速度以及堆肥的食物殘渣類型。 冷凍堆肥也有助於減少異味,並在附近放置一盤小蘇打以吸收異味,但請務必每月更換盤子。 您還可以購買帶有有助於減少異味的木炭過濾器的檯面垃圾箱。

我應該如何清潔我的堆肥廚房桶?

用熱水沖洗檯面廚房桶,然後用洗潔精浸泡幾個小時。 一旦你的桶完成浸泡,讓其乾燥並刮掉任何食物殘留物。 您也可以像擦任何盤子一樣擦洗您的桶,Recology 提供的廚房桶甚至可以用洗碗機清洗。 查看 這裡 有關如何保持廚房桶清潔的更多提示!

除了庭院垃圾和食物殘渣外,堆肥車還可以放入哪些材料?

食品和飲料臟紙,包括紙外賣容器、筷子和冰棒棍等木製器具以及油膩的紙板披薩盒都屬於堆肥。 可以找到可接受項目的完整列表 這裡.

什麼是參議院法案 (SB) 1383,它將如何影響我?

SB 1383 是加州範圍內的一項法律,旨在減少短期氣候污染物的排放,包括有機物質最終進入垃圾填埋場時釋放的甲烷。 該法律規定在全州範圍內提供堆肥服務和可食用食品回收計劃。 如果您的單戶住宅已經擁有綠色堆肥車,SB 1383 不會影響您的服務,但現在必須對三種廢物流中的材料進行適當分類。 將來可能會隨機檢查您的購物車以進行正確分類。 有關 SB 1383 的更多信息,請訪問 這頁.

#

關於服務和計費的問題

如何獲得更大/更小的購物車?

居民可以通過以下方式聯繫 Recology 申請更小或更大的回收、堆肥和垃圾車 他們的網站 或致電 (650) 595-3900。 請注意,更改黑色垃圾車的尺寸會影響您的垃圾賬單,因為費率取決於您的垃圾車的尺寸。 如果您更改藍色 Recycle 或綠色 Compost 推車的尺寸,則不會收取任何費用或更改您的垃圾賬單。

我可以獲得額外的回收或堆肥車嗎?

是的,您可以從 聖馬刁縣生態學 為月費。 聯繫 Recology 購物車@recology.com 或致電 (650) 595-3900。 這 “聯繫我們”表格 Recology San Mateo County 網站上還包括請求額外推車的選項。

有後院服務嗎?

特殊處理服務: 身體上無法將手推車放在路邊或路邊進行服務的居民可以向 Recology 申請特殊處理服務,無需額外費用。

後院取件服務: 不想將手推車放在路邊或路邊的居民可以要求後院收集服務。 學說 將安排從共同指定的區域為您的手推車提供額外費用,具體​​取決於與路邊的距離和海拔。 聯繫 Recology 購物車@recology.com 或致電(650)595-3900了解更多信息。

如果我的服務出現問題,我該怎麼辦?

請儘快聯絡 聖馬刁縣生態學 at 購物車@recology.com,致電 (650) 595-3900,或填寫 “聯繫我們”表格 如果您遇到任何問題,請訪問 Recology San Mateo County 網站,以便解決問題。 如果您無法以滿意的方式解決 Recology 的服務問題或想報告公司提供的卓越服務,請訪問 這頁 聯繫 RethinkWaste。

我如何支付賬單?

您可以郵寄支票與您的賬單或 網上付款 通過 Recology San Mateo County 的網站。 您甚至可以通過以下方式設置自動計費 Recology的網站 要通過電子郵件接收賬單,您可以在線支付。 您也可以在位於聖卡洛斯的 225 Shoreway Road 的 Recology 辦公室付款。 由於當前與 COVID-19 相關的安全預防措施,必須在線發送或郵寄付款。

#

關於垃圾費率的問題

我的垃圾率包括什麼?

您的垃圾費涵蓋的不僅僅是撿拾垃圾。 雖然 11 個 RethinkWaste 中的每一個 會員機構 設置費率以滿足他們自己社區的獨特需求,您支付的垃圾費率設置為在大多數情況下支付以下項目的費用:

  • 每週回收(藍色購物車)收集
  • 每週堆肥(綠色購物車)收集
  • 路邊廢舊電池和手機回收
  • 路邊廢機油和機油濾清器回收
  • 每年兩次的大件物品收集計劃
  • 垃圾填埋場處置費
  • 回收處理費
  • 堆肥加工費
  • 掃街(在某些城市)
  • 縣級費用、當地費用、垃圾填埋場關閉費用和家庭危險廢物費用

設置垃圾率的過程是什麼?

每年,RethinkWaste 都會與其合作 會員機構 準備一份費率報告,指明每個機構必須籌集多少收入,以通過設定下一個日曆年的垃圾費率來支付服務成本和費用。 該報告於每年 218 月提供。 然後每個成員機構開始各自的費率設置過程。 這包括確定他們的特定社區需要進行哪些費率調整(如果有的話),然後啟動 XNUMX 號提案的公眾聽證會通知程序。

通過 218 號提案,居民被告知該社區正在考慮的最大費率調整,讓居民有機會查看所有信息。 還向居民提供了有關如何就所考慮的費率提供公眾意見和證詞的說明。

在市議會或其他管理委員會會議期間確定公開聽證會日期,讓公眾有機會提供意見,並根據結果,管理機構將考慮採用擬議的費率調整。 一旦獲得批准,新費率將於每年 1 月 XNUMX 日或之後生效。

為什麼我的 Hillsborough 垃圾率與我在福斯特城的朋友不同? 我們都有一個 32 加侖的垃圾車,所以他們不應該是一樣的嗎?

每個11 會員機構 每年根據他們的特定社區設定自己的費率。 每個機構還包括自己獨特的費用,例如清掃街道或特許經營費,但每個機構都自行決定要包括哪些費用。

此外,提供服務的成本因住房密度和丘陵社區等因素而異。 這些因素也被考慮到費率中,並且每個社區都不同。

可回收物品的錢去哪兒了?

通過營銷可回收物獲得的資金用於幫助將固體廢物和有機物的費用保持在低於其他情況的水平。 這對垃圾率有積極影響。 因此,對於居民和企業來說,盡可能多地進行回收很重要,因為它最終會被用來幫助降低費率。

#

沒有看到您正在尋找的答案? 我們很樂意提供幫助! 請給我們留言,並使用下面的聯繫表格將您的問題發送給我們。

fbpx

Single Family FAQs

This page highlights frequently asked questions for single-family households. Select one of the below topics to get started. Don’t see the answers you’re looking for? We’d love to help! Drop us a line and send us your question using our contact form.

Questions about what is accepted, not accepted and hard to recycle items


Questions about compost


Questions about Service and billing


Questions about rates

#

QUESTIONS ABOUT WHAT IS ACCEPTED, NOT ACCEPTED AND HARD TO RECYCLE ITEMS

Why Can’t Plastic Bags Go in the Recycling Cart?

RethinkWaste does not accept plastic bags in the recycling cart because they often get caught in the machinery at the Shoreway Environmental Center, risking damage to the facility and endangering our workers. Check your local grocery store to see if they take back plastic bags or visit RecycleStuff.org for a list of drop-off locations. You can check the most updated list of locations in the RethinkWaste area that accept plastic bags here.

How Can I Recycle an Old Mattress Or Box Spring?

Residents can drop off up to five (5) of their mattresses free of charge in one visit, through the Mattress Recycling Council’s Bye Bye Mattress program at the Shoreway Environmental Center’s Transfer Station. Click here to see which mattresses and box springs qualify for recycling. For more information on how to recycle mattresses and box springs, visit this page.

When is the Next Shredding and/or E-Scrap Collection Event?

Check our events page for the next shred/e-scrap event in your city or town. Shred and E-Scrap events are held annually by RethinkWaste and on behalf of our participating Member Agencies.

E-Scrap is accepted year-round at the Shoreway Public Recycling Center in San Carlos.

How Do I Recycle My Used Household Batteries and Old Cell Phones?

Simply place your household batteries or cell phones in a clear, zip-top bag and place the bag on top of your black Garbage Cart on your collection day. Lithium batteries must be taped with clear, household tape and cell phones must be wrapped in paper before being placed in the zip-top bag. Visit this page to learn more about proper battery disposal and why it’s important.

 

 

Can I Recycle Used Motor Oil and Oil Filters Curbside?

Yes, Recology San Mateo County offers curbside collection of used motor oil and used oil filters for recycling at no additional cost. Upon request, Recology San Mateo County can provide residents with up to five one-gallon plastic jugs for your used motor oil and up to five plastic bags for your used oil filters at a time. Or you can use your own clear one-gallon jugs with sealable lids for motor oil and zip-top bags for oil filters. Place your used motor oil and filters next to your blue Recycle Cart on your collection day. Motor oil and oil filters are also accepted at the Public Recycling Center at Shoreway Environmental Center.

How Do I Schedule a Bulky Item Collection Pick-Up?

Residents can schedule two On-Call Bulky Item pick ups annually with Recology for no additional cost. Simply contact Recology San Mateo County at (650) 595-3900 to schedule your pick up or visit Recology San Mateo County’s website.

Why Aren’t Shelf Stable Containers such as Soy Milk Containers Recyclable?

Shelf stable containers (such as soy/almond/oat milk and soup broths) are usually Aseptic or Tetrapak containers, which means they are made up of different materials, such as foil, paper and plastic. Juice pouches and cylindrical chip containers are other examples of multi-material items. The materials are glued very closely together and our facility does not currently have the capacity to separate the various components to be recycled, so they must be placed in the black Garbage Cart.

Are Old CDs and DVDs Recyclable?

No. If you are unable to donate or reuse old CDs and DVDs, these items go in the black Garbage Cart. Old records and cassette tapes can also go in the black Garbage Cart if they cannot be donated. However, they can be dropped off at Green Citizen in Burlingame for a small fee ($1.00/lb. to recycle).

Why Can’t Black Plastic Go in the Recycling Bin?

Black plastic does not belong in the recycling bin. The optical scanners that sort plastic at the  Shoreway Environmental  Center cannot read black plastic. Additionally, black plastic is a lower quality plastic and does not have a market to be sold to. If you cannot reuse it, black plastic belongs in the garbage bin/cart.

Does the Chasing Arrows Symbol Mean that an Item is Recyclable?

Not necessarily, the chasing arrows symbol simply indicates that the item is made of plastic, not that the item is readily recyclable. We only accept plastic materials with a number that ranges from 1-7.  The numbers indicate the type of plastic material the item is made of. Learn more here. Right now, plastics labeled #3-7 do not have a market to be recycled into something new and therefore these plastics are currently being landfilled.

Are All Plastics Recycled After Being Collected?

Plastics, along with any item collected for recycling, must have a downstream or end market where it can be turned into something new to be recycled. Without a destination (or an end market) where materials can be made into something new, “recyclables” wouldn’t be actually “recycled.” Right now, plastics labeled #3-7 do not have a market, and therefore these plastics are currently being landfilled. Visit this page for more information about how plastics are recycled in the RethinkWaste service area.

Where Can I Dispose of Cooking Oil?

You can dispose of cooking oil at the Shoreway Public Recycling Center, free of charge. Residents can drop off up to 15 gallons of cooking oil per visit.

How Can I Dispose of Old Paint?

  • Empty paint containers with no hazardous product remaining can go in the trash or recycling bin. Fully empty paint containers can go in the recycling bin. If there’s a layer of hardened paint, then it’s trash.
  • If you still have paint in the can, you have several options to dispose of paint:
    • Schedule a Household Hazardous Waste drop-off appointment with San Mateo County: Click here to make an appointment.
    • Drop off the latex and oil-based paint at the Shoreway Public Recycling Center.
    • Many paint stores now take back paint, stain and varnish year‐round for free during their regular business hours as part of the PaintCare program. Find locations here.

How Do I Recycle My Holiday Tree?

Once you’ve removed all the tinsel, lights, decorations and stands from your holiday tree, you can leave the tree next to your green Compost Cart and Recology will pick it up for you between January 2 – 31 on your regular collection day. Please make sure trees are 8 feet and under. If your tree is taller than 8 feet, cut the tree into lengths of 8 feet or less. After January 31st, trees must be cut up and placed inside the Compost Cart for collection. If you require assistance or your tree has not been picked up, call the Recology customer service line at (650) 595-3900 or utilize the ‘Contact Us’ form on the Recology San Mateo County Website.

What Can I Do With Treated Wood Waste?

Treated wood waste needs to be disposed of at a specific facility that handles this waste. Check the Department of Toxics Substances Control website for more information on where to take this waste.

What is Wish-Cycling?

Wish-cycling is placing something in the recycle bin “wishing” it will be sorted and recycled. Before you need to sort your waste, please check out WhatBin.com to see where the item correctly belongs or use RecycleStuff.org for items that don’t go into any cart or bin. Check out this sorting game to test your waste knowledge!

Does aluminum foil with food on it need to be cleaned?

No, the aluminum foil does not need to be cleaned. Shake off any excess food, crinkle the foil into a ball (food-side in), and then place in your blue Recycle Cart.

Where can I dispose of my hazardous waste (Latex and oil-based paint, fluorescent lights, cleaners, aerosols cans, propane tanks, pesticides, and motor oil/filters)?

San Mateo County’s Household Hazardous Waste Program helps residents responsibly dispose of their hazardous waste for free. Residents MUST schedule an appointment at smchealth.org/hhw or by calling (650) 363-4718 (select option 3).  County residents can drop off a full range of HHW, including aerosol cans and household cleaning products. For more options and information on hazardous waste disposal, visit our household hazardous waste page.

The Shoreway Public Recycling Center also accepts select hazardous waste such as paint, fluorescent light bulbs and tubes, motor oil and filters for free drop-off. Find a list of accepted items at our Shoreway Public Recycling Center page.

Where can I recycle clothes?

Recology of San Mateo County does not recycle textiles. Most thrift stores like Goodwill and the Salvation Army participate in textile recycling and can take old or unwanted clothing in good condition. Some stores also accept worn clothes for recycling. North Face, H&M, and Madewell collect used apparel and shoes and provide discounts to customers that bring items in. Also, check your local pet shelter, such as Peninsula Humane Society as they may take old linens as bedding for animals.

Does shredded paper need to go in a bag for recycling?

Yes. Please place shredded paper inside a paper bag labeled “Shredded Paper” and then into the recycling cart to prevent spillage and littering when carts are picked up.

How clean do my recyclables need to be before they go into the blue cart?

Recyclables like hard plastic and glass jars and bottles need to be about 90% clean before they go into the recycling. It’s important to ensure that liquids don’t end up in the recycling so paper products don’t get contaminated.

#

QUESTIONS ABOUT COMPOST

Why Can’t I Use Plastic Bags in My Kitchen Pail or Compost Cart?

Plastics of any kind, including bags, are not accepted in the Compost program, as they are not made of organic material and will not break down in an industrial compost facility.  You can use items such as newspaper or paper bags to wrap your food scraps in before placing them in the Compost Cart. You can also use Biodegradable Products Institute (BPI) compostable bags to line your kitchen pail or Compost Cart to collect food scraps. These bags can be found at many local retail locations. Visit this page for more information about how to line your kitchen pail or Compost Cart without a compostable bag. 

Where Can I Get Free Compost?

RethinkWaste offers free compost at our Shoreway Transfer Station in San Carlos, for all residents within our service area. Visit our Compost page to learn more.

Where can I get a countertop kitchen compost pail?

You can request your own kitchen compost pail for free via Recology San Mateo County through their website on the contact us page or by calling (650) 595-3900.

How do I reduce odor from compost?

Empty the contents of your kitchen pail every few days to prevent odors. Every household may be a little different depending on how quickly you fill it up and what kind of food scraps you compost. Freezing compost also helps to reduce odor as well as placing a dish of baking soda nearby to absorb odor,  just be sure to change the dish monthly. You can also purchase a countertop bin with a charcoal filter that helps reduce odor.

How should I clean my compost kitchen pail?

Rinse your countertop kitchen pail with hot water and let soak for a few hours with dish soap. Once your pail is done soaking, let dry and scrape out any food remnants. You can alternatively scrub your pail as you would any dish and the kitchen pails given by Recology are even dishwasher safe. Check here for more tips about how to keep your kitchen pail clean!

What materials can go in the compost cart besides yard waste and food scraps?

Food and beverage soiled paper, including paper takeout containers, wooden utensils like chopsticks and popsicle sticks, and greasy cardboard pizza boxes belong in the compost. A full list of acceptable items can be found here.

What is Senate Bill (SB) 1383 and how will it affect me?

SB 1383 is a California-wide law that aims to reduce emissions of short-lived climate pollutants, including methane, which is released when organic material ends up in the landfill. The law mandates composting services and edible food recovery programs throughout the state. If your single family dwelling already has a green Compost Cart, SB 1383 will not affect your services, but proper sorting of materials among the three waste streams is now mandatory. Your carts may be inspected randomly for proper sorting in the future. For more information on SB 1383, visit this page.

#

QUESTIONS ABOUT SERVICES AND BILLING

How Do I Get a Bigger/Smaller Cart?

Residents can request smaller or larger Recycle, Compost and Garbage carts by contacting Recology through their website or call them at (650) 595-3900. Please note that changing the size of your black Garbage Cart will affect your garbage bill as rates are based on the size of your Garbage Cart. There is no charge or change in your garbage bill if you change the size of your blue Recycle or green Compost cart.

Can I Get Additional Recycle or Compost Carts?

Yes, you can rent additional carts from Recology San Mateo County for a monthly fee. Contact Recology at carts@recology.com or call (650) 595-3900. The ‘Contact Us’ form on the Recology San Mateo County website also includes an option to request additional carts.

Is There Backyard Service?

Special Handling Service: Residents who are physically unable to place their carts curbside or roadside for service can request the Special Handling Service from Recology for no additional cost.

Backyard Collection Service: Residents who do not wish to leave their carts out curbside or roadside can request Backyard Collection Service. Recology will make arrangements to service your carts from a mutually designated area for an additional fee, dependent upon the distance and elevation from the curb. Contact Recology at carts@recology.com or call (650) 595-3900 for more information.

What Do I Do If I’m Having Issues With My Service?

Please contact Recology San Mateo County at carts@recology.com, call (650) 595-3900, or fill out the ‘Contact Us’ form on the Recology San Mateo County website if you experience any issues so that they may be resolved. If you are unable to resolve a service issue with Recology to your satisfaction or would like to report exceptional service provided by the company, please visit this page to contact RethinkWaste.

How Do I Pay My Bill?

You can mail in a check with your bill or pay online through Recology San Mateo County’s website. You can even set up automated billing through Recology’s website to receive bills via email you can then pay online. You can also drop off your payment at Recology’s offices at 225 Shoreway Road in San Carlos. Due to current safety precautions related to COVID-19, payment must be sent online or mailed.

#

Questions about your garbage rates and Shoreway facility rates

What’s Included in My Garbage Rate?

Your garbage rate covers a lot more than just picking up your garbage. While each of the 11 RethinkWaste Member Agencies set the rates to address their own community’s unique needs, the garbage rate you pay is set to cover the costs for the following items in most cases:

  • weekly recycling (blue cart) collection
  • weekly compost (green cart) collection
  • curbside used battery and cell phone recycling
  • curbside used motor oil and oil filter recycling
  • twice annual bulky item collection program
  • disposal fees at the landfill
  • processing fees for recycling
  • processing fees for composting
  • street sweeping (in some cities)
  • county fees, local fees, landfill closure fees and household hazardous waste fees

What’s the Process to Set the Garbage Rates?

Each year, RethinkWaste works with its Member Agencies to prepare a rate report that specifies how much revenue each agency must raise to cover the cost of service and fees through setting garbage rates for the next calendar year. This report is available in September each year. Each Member Agency then begins their individual rate setting process. This consists of determining what rate adjustments, if any, are needed for their specific community and then the Proposition 218 Notice of Public Hearing process is initiated.

Through Proposition 218, residents are notified of the maximum rate adjustment being considered for that community, giving residents the opportunity to review all the information. Residents are also given instructions on how to provide public input and testimony on the rates being considered.

A public hearing date is set during a city council or other governing board meeting to allow the public the opportunity to provide input, and based on the outcome, the governing body will consider adoption of the proposed rate adjustments. Once approved, the new rates are effective on or after January 1st of each year.

Why Are My Hillsborough Garbage Rates Different Than My Friend in Foster City? We Both Have a 32-Gallon Garbage Cart, So Shouldn’t They Be the Same?

Each of the 11 Member Agencies set their own rates annually based on their specific community. Each agency also includes its own unique fees, such as street sweeping or franchise fees, but each one makes these decisions as to what fees to include on their own.

In addition, the cost for providing the services varies based on factors such as housing density and having hilly neighborhoods. These factors are also taken into account for the rates and each community is different.

Where Does the Money From the Recyclables Go?

The money received from marketing the recyclables is used to help keep the fees for solid waste and organics lower than they otherwise would be. This has a positive impact on garbage rates. Therefore, it’s important for residents and businesses to set out as much recycling as they can for pick up, because it ultimately is used to help keep rates lower.

How are the rates at the Shoreway Transfer Station set?

The public disposal rates at the Shoreway Transfer Station are set by RethinkWaste (aka South Bayside Waste Management Authority) as the owner of the facility. Rates are set annually to offset the cost of the operations of the entire site. Starting in 2024, as a result of a required governmental agency procurement process, there is a new operator of the Shoreway facility where costs were significantly higher than the previous operator due to more labor and prevailing market costs to operate the Shoreway facility.  In addition, recent increased disposal costs (i.e. the cost to send materials to the landfill, compost processing facilities, etc..) have also caused rates to increase.

#

Don’t see the answers you’re looking for? We’d love to help! Drop us a line and send us your question using our contact form below.